Chandra Yonzon attends NERA

Spread the love

Hon. Consul General of Nepal to Victoria, Chandra Yonzon (चन्द्र योन्जन), attended NAV Excellence Recognitions & Awards (NERA) at Collingwood Town Hall on Sunday, 8 July 2018. NERA, an annual awards ceremony organised by Nepalese Association of Victoria (NAV), is aimed at recognising community members’ contributions to preserving Nepalese language and culture.

rsz_ chandra yonzon चन्द्र_योन्जन

Consul General Chandra Yonzon (चन्द्र योन्जन) along with Nepal’s Reconstruction Fund special envoy and former Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) ICC President, Shesh Ghale, Victorian Multicultural Commissioner, Dr Sundram Sivamalai, former Victorian Multicultural Commissioner, Chin Tan, Northern Metropolitan Region Victorian Legislative Council Member, Dr Samantha Ratnam MP, local government representatives, multicultural organisation representatives, community leaders and members attended the program.

Chandra Yonzon चन्द्र योन्जन 99

In his welcome speech, NAV President, Dr Anupam Pokharel, said, “NAV works on language and culture, capacity building, youth and children’s activities and sports. We feel privileged to organise this awards program in similar categories, and believe that such awards will help our community to be more confident.”

Addressing attendees, Consul General Chandra Yonzon (चन्द्र योन्जन) emphasised the important work of organisations such as NAV, which provide support to the Nepalese community and to advocates on their behalf. Consul General Chandra Yonzon (चन्द्र योन्जन) added that the Nepalese community should now aim at representing local government bodies and organisations.

Addressing the program, multicultural leaders endorsed NAV and the Nepalese community for actively contributing to multiculturalism in Victoria, and for recognising the achievements made by members and friends of the Nepalese community. They congratulated NAV for highlighting the achievements of community members and congratulated all award nominees.

Awards were presented in six categories, including Language, Art & Culture; Professional or Academic Achievement; Initiation, Leadership or Advocacy; NAV Commendable Service to Nepalese Community; Young Achiever Award; and Sports Award.

Didi Bahini Samaj Victoria was awarded for Language, Art & Culture, and Dr. Raju Adhikari was awarded for Professional or Academic Achievement. Surendra Sedhai was awarded for Leadership and Advocacy, Aussie Action Abroad was awarded for NAV Commendable Service to Nepalese Community, Bishal Shrestha was awarded the Young Achiever Award, and Anita Sapkota was won the Sports Award.

During the program, 2018 NAV Election Commissioner, Niraj Karanjeet, corroborated Tara Gaire as president and other executive committee members. Guests enjoyed cultural performances including dances by NAV Bal Chautari. Tara Gaire, on behalf of NAV, thanked all sponsors, community advisors, volunteers and the media for their continued support.